top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelley Sue

Ode to COVID-19

Updated: Mar 22, 2020




It is strange being a homeschool mama at heart and back in the school system during these digital learning days. While my own children are home digitally learning (DLD) for the next few weeks I have to report to work. I stayed home yesterday because I have been fighting a cold and felt I needed to be near in case my own children needed my help. I stood aside in awe all day watching them learn online. I miss the days we stayed in our pj's doing school work, snuggling while reading, snacking and taking breaks as we so desired. Recess meant we went for a long walk or explored in the backyard. Music class meant song writing and practicing the piano for endless hours. Impromptu field trips were a must. Regular visits with our neighbors who are like our second grandparents and baking treats for Mrs J next door. My youngest felt somewhat prepared for DLD's because her teachers took the time to prepare them in middle school. While my son who is in high school maybe was not so prepared but able to navigate eCLASS and complete his assignments. My feed on social media is a mix of homeschool friends who have been doing what they've done all along while others are educators and parents who work full-time from home now juggling teaching their own children as well as others. And, here I am, a newly single mama who is uncertain about the upcoming weeks ahead and anxiously awaiting Spring Break (blindly, maybe). I can't help but compare this time at home with my children with the days when life was calmer and less rushed.


Putting all this aside, I can't help but wonder if the Lord is sending us some sort of message. Is it that we must all slow down so we are better able to focus on Him? He is the only one who truly knows. For now, I know this to be true, we must show compassion, be patient, cherish this time, have an open heart, set a good example, and rise to the occasion.


I went into work today with my head up and heart open ready to receive whatever was about to come my way. By the end of the day, I left with a laptop assigned to me so I can work from home. Thank you, Lord. I am grateful. Thank you for giving my family time with each other. To slow down. To focus. To clear away what shouldn't and doesn't matter. The weeks ahead will be cherished and not taken for granted.


Prayers to the families who are struggling financially, to the elderly and sick, to those who are living fearfully, and to those of you in the medical field. May the Lord cover you and bring you peace.


I leave you with these wise words written by my dear friend, Cheryl Draper. For the Lord is sovereign. I pray that He takes this time and uses it to glorify himself. That He helps us to honor the fear and guides us as we lean into our fear with curiosity. Remember, faith dispels fear. Lets not miss our heavenly Father's voice.


"It seems extremely rocky For the days that lay ahead With schools closed down for maybe weeks Some parents are in dread Though teachers have made lesson plans For kids to do online Not all homes are so equipped Not all are doing fine By Day 1, some will realize That this will be a task To see that students take the time To do what they’ve been asked And many parents soon will learn That it is quite a chore To keep their kiddos focused For a hour – maybe more Bathroom break? You want a for snack? Request to take free time? Minecraft? YouTube? Instagram? That’s not what was assigned But oh my gosh, for Heaven’s sake Before we lose our minds Just take a 30 minute break You say you need more time? Perhaps another 15 minutes? Or even still an hour? Well, so be it, because I need To change my mood from sour My patience’s quickly wearing down And yet, it’s just day one And I predict that by week two I’ll be completely done And Spring Break plans look sketchy So that’s not going to be The carrot that I dangle To make these children see That fun times surely are ahead If they just work right now But everything is closing down Which takes away my power So teachers, my hat’s off to you You do this all the time And even now have all made sure Our students learn online. And those with children of their own Have extra work to do Not serving just their students But their own children, too So let’s all show some kindness In these uncertain weeks And keep our hearts wide open And with compassion speak For as it may be challenging It certainly will pass And we must be examples To rise up to this task For children’s eyes are watching And ears are listening, too To all of our complaints and sighs And what we say or do"


(Ode to COVID-19 Parents' Edition, Written by Cheryl Cottrell Draper)


52 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page