top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelley Sue

Boundaries

Updated: Jul 21, 2023



One of the most challenging and important lessons I’ve learned is that by practicing healthy boundaries and sticking to them, life appears more balanced. Here’s just a few I am consistently working on.


-Dedicating set work time and relax time. It can be challenging finding a balance, especially those of us who have children. Today’s world is fast paced with high anxiety, depression, deadlines and suicide on the rise. This is why it is so extremely important to teach our children about healthy boundaries and to practice self love and self care, and by example.


-Getting enough sleep! It’s important y’all! When I’ve been my most stressed, anxious, and fearful I struggle with sleep. Thank the Lord for having brothers and sisters in Christ who help hold me accountable along with melatonin, Sleepy Time Tea, and a really good scalp and facial massage.


-Limiting time on social media. This is a HUGE and important one. We all know and love social media. Bottom line, it can cause anxiety and can be a distraction from everyday life, which none of us need because real life sits right in front of us. Set a time limit. Unplug. Take a social break. Replace social media with spending time with the Lord, your significant other, family, friends, you get the picture. Discipline is key!


-Unfollowing accounts that make you sad and do not bring you joy. If this is the case delete and unfollow/unfriend. This mama only has time for those who lift my soul. No Debbie Downers!


-Learning your triggers and developing healthy coping skills. Get curious about your triggers and befriend them. This is a big one that many try to avoid. None of us like talking about what makes us uncomfortable, but it’s important to talk about. When we experience triggers it is okay to befriend them and work through them. I promise you’ll be okay. I’m proof! It's the perfect opportunity to grow in faith. Trust me!


-Following an exercise routine that keeps you fit, healthy and mentally, spiritually and emotionally happy. I could be pounding away at the gym, but honestly, I prefer the outdoors. Do what brings you joy!


-Learning to say no when you need to. You have a right to say no. Because guess what? You matter! 💜


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page